Peterborough by-election latest – who is set to win and who's Brexit Party candidate Mike Greene?

TODAY'S Peterborough by-election is hotting up to be a three-way fight between the Tories, Labour and the Brexit Party.

The election is taking place to replace disgraced former Labour MP Fiona Onasanya who was ousted after lying about her speeding ticket. Here's what you need to know about the runners and riders.

When is the Peterborough by-election?

The vote is taking place today, June 6, 2019.

It has been called "the mother of all marginals" after Labour won the seat by a fraction in 2017.

Fifteen candidates are running for the seat and relentless campaigning has been taking place to win over the voters.

The by-election was triggered after sitting MP Onasanya was removed from office after a recall petition.

Who is running in the Peterborough by-election?

Brexit Party – Mike Greene

Christian People's Alliance – Tom Rogers

Common Good: Remain in the EU – Dick Rodgers

Conservatives – Paul Bristow

English Democrats – Stephen Goldspink

Green Party – Joseph Wells

Independent – Andrew John Moore

Independent – Bobby Smith

Labour – Lisa Forbes

Liberal Democrats – Beki Sellick

Official Monster Raving Loony Party – Alan "Howling Laud" Hope

Renew – Peter Ward

SDP Fighting for Brexit – Patrick O'Flynn

UK European Union Party – Pierre Kirk

Ukip – John Whitby

Who is set to win?

Polls suggest the seat will go to Brexit Party candidate Mike Greene.

This is due to Peterborough's strong turnout for the Leave vote in the 2016 Brexit referendum.

The bookies make it a 1/4 shot that the Brexit Party will win the election, putting them streets ahead in the betting, with Labour out at 4/1 and every other runner 33/1 or bigger.

Alex Apati of Ladbrokes said: "At this point it's hard to see anything other than a win for the Brexit Party in the Peterborough by-election."

Ladbrokes latest odds are as follows:

Brexit Party – 1/4
Labour – 3/1
Lib Dems – 50/1
Conservative – 50/1
Green – 200/1

Ukip – 500/1

How did Peterborough vote in the last election?

In the 2017 General Election Labour candidate Fiona Onasanya was elected with 48.1 per cent of the vote.

She was closely followed by the Conservative candidate with 46.8 per cent of the vote.

The Liberal Democrats and Green Party managed to attain 3.3 and 1.8 per cent of the vote in 2017 respectively.

How did Peterborough vote in the Brexit referendum?

Peterborough voted overwhelmingly in favour of leaving the EU in the 2016 referendum.

Leave voters numbered 60.1 per cent in comparison to 39.1 per cent for Remain out of a turnout of 72.3 per cent.

This same pro-Brexit Leave feeling was repeated at the end of May in the European Parliament Elections when Nigel Farage’s party won twice as many votes as its nearest rival Labour.

The Brexit Party polled 16,196 votes, while Labour drew 7,272 followed by the Liberal Democrats on 6,491 votes.

Source: Read Full Article